top of page

2024 NCO of the Year Awards




Every year, our chapter selects the top NCOs from each component, Active, Reserve and National Guard.  We have so many great Soldiers and NCOs in our chapter area and we are extremely proud of their service in the Army and in their communities.  We have opened this year's competition and are accepting nominating packets now. 


Are you taking care of your Soldiers and NCOs and recognizing their outstanding efforts and service? 


Now is the time to assemble their packet and get it submitted, suspense 01 April 2024!

  • I invite you to submit your Non-Commissioned Officers for consideration to be our Chapter’s NCO of the Year.  Each year the Major Samuel Woodfill Chapter of the Association of the United States Army selects an outstanding NCO from each of the Army Components (AC, USAR, ARNG) in the chapter’s area.  The honorees are invited to attend an awards presentation on 03 May 2024 at Diamond Oaks Career Campus, 6375 Harrison Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45247. 

  • The chapter provides an all-expenses-paid trip for the awardees to the AUSA Annual Conference in Washington,
    DC which takes place 14-16 October 2024. This is truly an amazing professional development event. Chapter members will accompany each selected NCO to the conference where they may have the opportunity to meet the Secretary of the Army, Army Chief of Staff, the Sergeant Major of the Army and many other respected and influential decision makers.


  • The awardees are selected by a board of retired CSMs and 1SGs.  The board will convene in April 2024.

  • We request that your unit nominate one deserving NCO, E-5 through E-7, for consideration of this award.  Please submit the following information to the undersigned suspense NLT 01 April 2024.  Great candidates may be your Best Warrior winners for this year.


  1. Brief biography with most recent accomplishments including community contributions

  2. Commander or CSM’s recommendation letter

  3. DA 2A and 2-1 or ARB

  4. Most recent NCOER, APFT and Weapons qualification record


  • All nominations and supporting documents will be carefully considered and held in confidence by the selection board.  Please mail or email ( the nomination packet to the undersigned.  My phone number is (619) 647-3273 if there are any questions.


Steve Deardorff

VP of NCO and Soldier Affairs

AUSA, MAJ Samuel Woodfill Chapter


Our NCO of the Year program is in its 30+ year and was established by the late CSM Bill Pewther.  CSM Pewther was a consummate professional and a Soldier to the core and was selected as the recipient of the prestigious national AUSA award, the SMA William G. Bainbridge Award.

CSM Bill Pewther and SGM Rory Malloy

(L to R) SGM Rory Malloy, speaker and former NCO awardee; CSM William Pewther with chapter award for producing 20-year NCO award program; CSM Michael Boyd also former NCO awardee; Doris Pewther, wife of CSM Pewther, and (in the rear) COL (r) Robert Wetterstroem.

NCO Rank Picture_edited.png
Past NCO of the Year Photos

2019 (L to R) SGT Aaron Sims, SMA Michael Grinston, SGT Whitney Schalk

2018 (L to R) SGT William Furst, SFC Jason Schreck, SSG Matthew Partin

2017 (L to R) SGT Tyler Harrington, SFC William Lewis, SMA (r) Ken Preston, SGT Joseph Carney, CSM (r) Michael Boyd

2016 (L to R) SSG Christopher Cummings, SFC Jarrod Kreitzer, SSG Matthew Paul, SMA (r) Ken Preston, CSM (r) Michael Boyd, CW4 Matt Luther

2015 (L to R) CSM (r) Michael Boyd, SSG Steven Deardorff, SFC Idlefonso Perez, SFC Geary Hester, CW4 Matt Luther

bottom of page