top of page

2020 NCO of the Year Awards


Every year, our chapter selects the top NCOs from each component, Active, Reserve and National Guard.  We have so many great Soldiers and NCOs in our chapter area and we are extrememly proud of their service in the Army and to their communities.  This year presented a challenge to our program due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The selection process typically takes place in April and the awards dinner recognizing the winners usually takes place in May.  This year, we decided to postpone the selection process to June.  We are proud and pleased to announce the following selected winners for 2020,

  • SFC Jesse Helms, National Guard, HHB 1-174th ADA, Cincinnati Ohio


  • SFC Brian Armistead, Active Army, ROTC Cadre, University of Dayton


  • SFC Eric Flaherty, Army Reserve, 478th Engineer Battalion, Ft. Thomas KY






We congratulate these fine NCOs and winners of this year's NCO competition.  We also congratulate and thank all NCOs and Commands for submitting packets for consideration.  We are very impressed with the level of excellence within our chapter area.


Our NCO of the Year program is in its 25th year and was established by the late CSM Bill Pewther.  CSM Pewther was a consummate professional and a Soldier to the core and was selected as the recipient of the prestigous national AUSA award, the SMA William G. Bainbridge Award.


This award is named for the fifth Sergeant Major of the Army, William G. Bainbridge, USA, Retired, its first recipient. It is presented to a noncommissioned officer during the opening ceremony at the AUSA Annual Meeting.  The Bainbridge Award recognizes the special role of the noncommissioned officers in America's Army - their responsibilities, accomplishments and the vital role they play in the defense of our nation. The award also highlights the important contributions that NCOs make to America long after they take off the uniform. It recognizes an NCO who has devoted a lifetime of selfless service to our Army, the NCO Corps and to the local community. The Bainbridge Award is presented to a noncommissioned officer - active, reserve component or retired - whose contributions to the NCO Corps and the local community have been significant.


Bill loved our country and lived the Army.  He is missed.










Many of our chapter NCO of the Year honorees have gone on to distinguish themselves and have been promoted to the highest enlisted ranks. SGM Rory Malloy (USASMA Commandant), CSM Michael Boyd (Chapter President) and CSM Scott Barga (371st Sustainment BDE CSM) are prime examples of past honorees just to name a few.



(L to R) SGM Rory Malloy, speaker and former NCO awardee; CSM William Pewther with chapter award for producing 20-year NCO award program; CSM Michael Boyd also former NCO awardee; Doris Pewther, wife of CSM Pewther, and (in the rear) COL (r) Robert Wetterstroem.

CSM Bill Pewther and SGM Rory Malloy
Past NCO of the Year Photos

2016 (L to R) SSG Christopher Cummings, SFC Jarrod Kreitzer, SSG Matthew Paul, SMA (r) Ken Preston, CSM (r) Michael Boyd, CW4 Matt Luther

2019 (L to R) SGT Aaron Sims, SMA Michael Grinston, SGT Whitney Schalk

2018 (L to R) SGT William Furst, SFC Jason Schreck, SSG Matthew Partin

2017 (L to R) SGT Tyler Harrington, SFC William Lewis, SMA (r) Ken Preston, SGT Joseph Carney, CSM (r) Michael Boyd

2015 (L to R) CSM (r) Michael Boyd, SSG Steven Deardorff, SFC Idlefonso Perez, SFC Geary Hester, CW4 Matt Luther

bottom of page